United Nations Statistics Division
Two UN Plaza DC2-1676, New York, NY 10017
Tel: (212) 963-3042 or (212) 963-4849
Fax: (212) 963-4569

Fifth Session of the UN Committee of Experts on GGIM

Award of Certificate of Appreciation: UN-GGIM Co-Chair Dr. Vanessa Lawrence
Opening Session, Wednesday, August 5, 2015
United Nations, New York

During the Opening of the Fifth Session of the United Nations Committee of Experts on Global Geospatial Information Management (UN-GGIM), the Under-Secretary-General of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), Mr. Wu Hongbo awarded Dr. Vanessa Lawrence from the United Kingdom a certificate of appreciation. Dr. Lawrence had been elected Co-Chair of UN-GGIM during the first session of the Committee in the Republic of Korea in 2011 and had served in this role continuously for four years.

The text of the Certificate reads as follows:

“The deep appreciation, respect and gratitude of the United Nations Committee of Experts on Global Geospatial Information Management (UN-GGIM) is presented to Dr. Vanessa V. Lawrance CB.  On behalf of all UN Member States, the Committee of Experts appreciates the considerable leadership and dedication of time and effort you have given to promote, shape and guide UN-GGIM since its establishment by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations (ECOSOC) in 2011. As the inaugural Co-Chair of the Committee of Experts from 2011-2015, your global knowledge and expertise has ensured that significant progress has been made towards achieving the Committee’s mandated objectives. Through your leadership the international community has made important progress towards recognising the essential role of geospatial information in global development. With grateful thanks.”

It is signed by the Under-Secretary-General for DESA, Mr. Wu Hongbo, and by the two fellow Co-chairs Dr. Eduardo Sojo from Mexico and Dr. Li Pengde from China.